Part 2, Reflection

Reflection

Reflection on the outcome of the assignment and the planning and research as they contributed to the outcome.

Contextualisation

I have aimed to contextualise my assignment work effectively having begun the planning of the assignment through the coursework tasks as well as having read, albeit initially only briefly, Baer’s reviews of trauma photography.

I considered trauma and how an individual who has a sense of trauma, as was briefly referenced in my research when I referenced Caruth, here might have a sense of place more oriented with trauma. I noted my personal responses to Jodie Taylor’s work, here, that showed the nostalgia associated with revisiting the memories of childhood yet evoked a different sense for me during some instances of viewing her work.

My research of Mikael Levin’s journey tracing his father’s before him also contextualises my proposal of exploration of the cultural, political and social stadium that can leave the vast and defining experiences of an individual who’s an outsider redacted to something that can only be termed erasure – as there is nothing left according to those who form the majority, the influence and the validation. For me, this was the retracing of some of a story from a significant man to my life and pivotal to my own sense of identity.

Further research examined the methods of Sally Mann whose abstention from the aftermath photography of collective amnesia, or closure of sorts, seemed to allow for a further sense of reference in the framing of my positioning my ideas as meaningfully as possible as a project underpinned by the proper evaluation of concepts. It is hoped that the assignment work is proposed thoroughly that it might be clearly seen that my intention was to demonstrate a small section of an outsider’s life as told through memory and as it fails to be acknowledged by the stadium as Barthes would refer to it in the photograph, but alternatively the local population, including those in positions of influence.

I acknowledge that as I have a connection to the man whose stories are told in these photographs, I come not altogether from a position of being a complete outsider to the outsider himself. Abigail Soloman-Godeau’s essay was considered as to the efforts required of a photographer to look carefully for the difficulties of bias. How these bias’ might construct weak photographs is something I acknowledge and I aimed to maintain these acknowledgements whilst planning, shooting and finishing the images and the written statements and the introduction to the assignment.

Demonstration of Creativity

I aimed to demonstrate creativity in my concept and my ability to translate my concept to the published work of assignment 2. My photographs aim to challenge the concepts typically associated with sense of place by majority groups and yet do so in a very veiled form that acts as part of the extended semiotic communication of the conceit.

Demonstration of Technical Skills

The photographs show technical skill in choice of location and the particular memories that are associated with those locations for the forming of a sense of narrative for the viewer. The composition of each photograph was also carefully considered, as was the weather that might help communicate the individual vignettes that compose the particular thread of the outsider’s memories of these times in his life. The necessary materials for capture of the photographs were considered and used, (tripod, filters etc.). The post processing of the images was also planned after capture to try to attain a cohesive narrative set that would describe the story in the standard post modern from that allows for “The Death of the Author” (Barthes, The Death of the Author) and for the viewer to have to engage more actively with the work.

Quality of Outcome

I hope that the quality of the outcome is evident not just in the finished photographs but the bringing of such a demanding idea to an assignment. This assignment idea has proven a strong challenge to me at the theoretical level but I hope that it will have brought me to a place of a greater sense of the potential for my capacities as a photographer.

 

References

Barthes,R, (1967) The Death of the Author, in Image, Music, Text Fontana Press; New Ed edition (13 Sept. 1993).

Soloman-Godeau, A, (1994), Inside/Out available via [http://www.photopedagogy.com/uploads/5/0/0/9/50097419/week_5_abigail_solomon-godeau_inside_out.pdf – Last accessed 30/07/17]

 

